Week 15 Qishan week 6

Howdy everyone!

Its just another day in Qishan.  But it isn’t raining, and that is wonderful.  I actually haven’t gotten soaked in a while.  That is a major blessing if you ask me.

But anyway, this week was pretty busy, lots and lots of traveling.  Tuesday and Wednesday we had companion exchanges.  So we went down to Gaoxiong where the Zone Leaders are, since our area is super far away, and we both had exchanges there.  It was a lot of fun.  It was good to see how other missionaries operate and stuff.  It definitely gave me a better appreciation for my own area, where things are familiar and where I know how to get around and things like that.  I think that was a valuable lesson.  I probably take my area for granted sometimes and it was good to see that missionary work is just as hard in other places too.

Thursday we were visited by President Funk, the President of the Asia Area in the Church.  So we had a tri-zone conference!  Lots of missionaries!  That was a good time.  The conference lasted from 10 to 4 so it was pretty long!  We discussed a lot and I learned a lot!  I had a cool experience where I learned something that really wasn’t being discussed, but that’s how the Spirit works isn’t it?  I don’t remember who was speaking or what they were talking about, but I remember turning to the Doctrine and Covenants in Section 4 where it says, “therefore, if ye have desires to serve God, ye are called to the work.”  One of my biggest goals as a missionary is to align my personal desires with what the Lord has planned for me.  I want to have righteous desires.  I don’t want any of my desires to be even remotely selfish, which is pretty hard!  I’d read that verse probably 100 times before but this time I read it it gave me a lot of peace.  I should start with my desire to serve God.  Then I will be called to the work, which I already have been!  I also know that God qualifies those who He calls.  I think that if I can continue to strengthen my desire to serve God, then everything else will fall into place.  I know that as that desire continues to grow, any other desires I have as a missionary or in life in general won’t ever conflict with God’s plan for me, because of my desire to serve him.  I’m still working on trying to be a better servant of the Lord.  I know its important, and its what I want to be.

The rest of the week wasn’t crazy eventful.  We did a lot of contacting and tracting. We found two families that we think have pretty good potential to become investigators which would be freaking awesome!  We haven’t taught any families yet here, and that’s a big goal of ours.  We tracted into a lady who seemed really willing to come to church this next Sunday, which was cool.  I decided that if we are in the area again we’ll remind her.  She didn’t give us her number or anything so otherwise I don’t see how we would meet her again.

The best part of the week was probably the fact that we got another baptismal goal!!  That makes a total of three!  And I am super hopeful for all three of them.  The funny part is that their last name is all Chen, but they all are definitely not related.  There’s just a ton of Chen’s in Taiwan.  And a lot of Li’s.  We were hoping to get a fourth baptismal goal this week, but in the lesson we were teaching we were sitting outside this man’s house, and there was road construction going on.  So he asked us to finish early because we couldn’t really hear each other that well.  At one point a cement truck drove up like 5 feet away from where I was sitting, so while it was unfortunate we got cut short, it was for a legitimate reason.  This next week we are going to invite him to be baptized.  Hopefully it goes well!  His name is Xie Guo Yao and he already believed in Jesus Christ.  But he also worships like 4 other Gods.  So while he believes and has a desire to learn, it might be hard getting him to believe in ONE God and that there is only one.  But, I believe that all things are possible through Christ!  So it is possible!  However hard it may be.

Well, the end of my first transfer is quickly approaching.  That means I’m done with 1/16 of my mission in Taiwan, or something like that.  I’m not exactly 100% sure.  But time is flying!  And I’ve decided I need to work harder at learning Chinese, even though I’m already learning pretty fast.  I want to be a master teacher in Chinese.  And I am absolutely no where close right now.  Better get crackin’.  I realized I am not praying as much as I should be to ask God to help me learn the language.  Pray combined with faith has a lot of power.  It allows God to work mighty miracles.  I know that to be true, and I should act like.  So, I’m going to pray more from here on out!  And I’m going to push myself more in the language.  Our mission president just today announced that all companionships should alternate days speaking English and Chinese so everyone, regardless of whether they’re native Chinese speakers or not, will be able to better learn the other language.  I’m excited for it!  It’s going to be great!

I love you all!  You’re all wonderful!  God bless!

-Elder Councill
