Week 32 Qishan Week 23 Memory Lane

Feb. 19, 2017

Okay hello yall.  How’s it going?  … That’s nice.
So this week was a blast.

On Monday we ate lots of biscuits and Thai food.

Tuesday we spent an hour playing guitar with one of our investigators.  Okay I feel like that deserves more of an explanation.  So there is a sister in our ward named Zhou JieMei.  (fun fact she used to be a Jehovah’s Witness O_O )  Her husband is a former investigator and he’s not very interested in church.  His reason is that church people can’t be wild people.  He’s like a 60 year old Taiwanese man who loves rock and roll.  He plays the guitar very well, and he can even sing too.  My companion also likes rock and roll.  He also can play guitar and sing.  So whenever we teach this man we have a little jam session.  My companion brings his guitar and they jam while I listen and sometimes try to sing along.  Its a lot of fun.  And it is helping him come unto Christ!  We play songs about Jesus and always end with a lesson.  Its weird, but maybe its what this man needs in order to respect the church.

Wednesday was English class, as always.  And it was the same as always.  Michael was there, speaking nearly perfect English but hardly making any sense.  Evy brought her two kids and was the only one getting anything out of the lesson.  Sarah was there and the whole time she was using Google translate.  And then you’ve got Andy.  I can’t remember what the lesson was on, but let’s just say we were talking about food. Here we are trying to ask questions and actually teach English and Andy randomly perks up from the back with a smile on his face and says, “Dialogue!”  Yes Andy, dialogue. Yes you said it right (mostly).  Yes I can understand what you’re saying.  Thank you Andy. Dialogue.  I love English Class.  Actually English class is honestly a lot of fun.  Its not always productive.  In fact it hardly ever is.   But, its our service project so we do it every week.

Sadly, we didn’t meet with John Sullivan this week because he was on vacation.  He took his family around the island for a few days.  But we did teach 3 super solid first lessons this week!  There’s one kid named Brian.  We met him like 2 months ago but because of Chinese New Year and things we couldn’t meet with him until this last week.  He is incredible.  He loves Jesus!  He is excited for the opportunity to learn more!  He wants to get baptized!  Only one problem.  He’s moving to Shanghai for 6 months.  There are no missionaries in Shanghai.  But that’s okay!  He has the Book of Mormon and he knows how to pray!  So in 6 months when he’s back in Taiwan, he will be ready to be baptized!

There’s another kid we met this last week named Huang.  He is by far the funnest Taiwanese person I’ve met his age.  He’s 26.  I don’t know what it is about him, but he’s nothing like other people.  Its probably because he seems American.  And he’s also a computer nerd.  And he makes jokes.  We taught him for the first time on Friday and it was insane.  Elder Westcott and I walked away and asked ourselves if he was real.  He believes the Book of Mormon is true.  He believes everything we taught him.  We invited him to be baptized on March 18 and he said he needed to read the Book of Mormon first to be ready.  We asked him to come to church at 9:00 on Sunday morning and he said he’d be there at 8:50.  And yes, he did show up to church yesterday, though it was about 8:54.  When he left after church, he made sure to ask when we’d be meeting again and he made sure that church was at the same time next week.  He is INCREDIBLE.  I didn’t know people like him existed.  He’s a miracle.  I guess it goes to show that there are people prepared to learn the gospel everywhere!

So this week I took a trip down memory lane.  It was a long trip, to about 17 years ago when I was living in Tamshui, Taiwan.  And it starts with this man.

raw
This is 林俊谷 (Lin Jun Gu).  He’s from Neimen. He’s almost 70 years old and he’s one of our most frequent peikes.  (He helps out with our lessons a lot)  A while back he lived in Taipei.  Tamshui to be exact.  In fact, this man was my Bishop when I was a little kid living in Taipei.  Here’s how we figured this out:

Two weeks ago we made the connection that he might have known me living in Taipei, just because the time and the place matched up.  But we still weren’t sure, mostly because he didn’t remember.  Well Tuesday night he was at the church and I told him where I live in Taipei each of the three years I was there, and which wards I attended while I was there, just to see if he remembered.  He didn’t.  About an our later he came back to the church to help out with a lesson.  The first thing he said when he walked in was, “Is your grandpa a psychologist?”

“No he’s a philosopher.”  At this he realized he might have remembered a little wrong so he asked me another question.
“Did you have a broken leg when you lived in Tamshui?”
With a grin on my face I replied, “Yes, yes I did.”  And then he came up and gave me a great big hug!  He remembered!!!  He then proceeded to tell me a few stories about my parents.  According to him my dad back in 1999 had the best Chinese of any white guy he had ever met and even admitted it was probably better than his own Chinese.  He also repeatedly told me how beautiful my mom is, saying,
“She was more beautiful than the American actresses on TV!  She was soooo beautiful! 非常漂亮!!!”
Haha that was a fun evening.  So yeah, I finally met someone that knew me as a baby back in Taipei.  And it turned out to be a man I’ve known for almost 6 months now.  Funny how that turns out.

Well folks, if that miracle of a story doesn’t add to the infinitely many evidences of the love of God, I don’t know what does.  God loves us.  He loves us more than we can comprehend.  He is perfect.  He created all of the entire universe and everything in it for our benefit, so that we could learn and grow, and have happiness.  “For behold, this is my work and my glory – to bring to pass the immortality and eternal life of man.” https://www.lds.org/scriptures/pgp/moses/1.39?lang=eng#38  How good is our God.  How wonderful His plan for us is.  I can promise you all that the best, most sure-fire way to have true happiness and eternal joy is through our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.  All we have to do is follow Him.  So come on, let’s do it.
I love you all!
-Elder Councill

This message has been brought to you by Google, who owns everything and runs all of our lives, and from readers like you, thank you! “Hi, I’m Elder Councill, and I approve this message!”
