Week 33, Qishan Week 24

Feb 26, 2017

Okay so first off, I apologize for not telling anyone I would be emailing on Tuesday this week and not Monday.  Whoops.  Yes, I’m still alive.  No, nothing is wrong.  Transfer p-days are on Tuesday now, so that’s why there’s a change.

Today is transfer day!  And guess what?  I’m not moving!  Whoa!  And I still have the same companion!  This will be our third transfer together and my fifth transfer in Qishan.  That’s crazy.  I’m now going to be in Qishan for a grand total of at least 7 and a half months.   Cool right?  The people here are going to be tired of me soon.  But maybe not!  On Sunday in the middle of  me passing her the sacrament, a sister asked me if I was moving.  She was very relieved to find out I was not.  She’s crazy.  My companion and I love her.  She’s got tattooed eyebrows, always wears floral pants, and is often chewing betel nut.

Anyways, this last week was a good week.  I thought I was leaving Qishan so I told a lot of people I might be, and then I got to see how they really thought about me depending on their reaction.  That was fun.  I still can’t tell if Andy likes me or not though.  I’m pretty sure Michael likes me.  He always calls me “Elder Councilor!”  whenever he sees us.  He’s also pretty crazy.  I love that man.  Here’s a picture of Michael in his tuxedo amazingness.

raw

Also, here’s a picture of John Sullivan!  I thought I might leave so I took a picture with him!
raw

Our lesson with him was amazing! He’s soooo close to accepting everything. He said he now knows God is real, he just has a hard time accepting everything.  I guess when you tell yourself that God doesn’t exist for 10 years, its hard to change.  But let me tell you something that shows how awesome he is.  So he’s been trying to quit drinking, and he’s doing incredible!  Pretty much the only time he drinks now is when his wife brings home wine.  Before, almost every day after work he would stop by the liquor store.  Now, to prevent that from happening, he prays the entire car ride back home from work.  And he hasn’t ever stopped.  That’s faith right there.  That man is incredible.  He actually doesn’t know that I stayed in Qishan.  He no longer has a cell phone because he’s fed up with technology lol.  So tomorrow will be fun when I show up to his house and he’s expecting a new elder.  I’m excited.

Well, God is incredible.  I talk a ton about miracles.  You all know I believe in them.  I also believe Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ love us all more than we can comprehend.  I know that God has a plan for all of mankind.  That plan is centered in Jesus Christ and is the only way any of us can ever live with eternal joy in God’s presence.  On top of that God has an individual plan for each of His children.  He knows exactly what we should be doing, where we should be going, and who we should be helping and serving.  God is in every facet of our lives.  He cares about your well-being.  He cares about your job, your success at work and at home, your relationship with your family, your spouse, and your children.  He cares about your happiness in every moment of your life.  He knows your goals, your desires, your wants, and your needs.  He will help you accomplish any good thing.  After all, every good thing comes from God.  He is the source of all that is joyful and all things that bring happiness.  He is the source of light!  That light can illuminate your soul and fill your lives with true joy that comes from understanding and love.  Imagine this, the greatest, most powerful, most glorious and good being that has ever lived is our Father in Heaven and He loves us.  He wants us to experience joy.  That’s also why we have to experience pain in this life.  Without sadness, we don’t know joy.  Without pain, we can’t know peace.  Alma 36:18-20 reads,
18 I cried within my heart: O Jesus, thou Son of God, have mercy on me, who am in the gall of bitterness, and am encircled about by the everlasting chains of death.
19 
And now, behold, when I thought this, I could remember my pains no more; yea, I was harrowed up by the memory of my sins no more.
20 And
oh, what joy, and what marvelous light I did behold; yea, my soul was filled with joy as exceeding as was my pain!”

Whatever pains, sadness, torment, or guilt we may feel, all can be removed and replaced with the sweet joy of the light of Jesus Christ.  This I know to be true.  All we have to do is let the light of the gospel into our lives by following Jesus Christ.  It’s that simple.  And it brings immense blessings.  Everybody should do it.  🙂

Love you all!

-Elder Councill
 

sorry for the potential and likely typos.  I did not proofread 🙂

